5 Questions About MIP Charges You’re Afraid To Ask
In the event you receive MIP charges, it’s important to know what to do next and how to move forward the right way.
Keep in mind, you don’t have to figure it all out on your own.
With an attorney at your defense, you don’t have to worry about making the “wrong” decision about dealing with MIP charges. Kitchin Law Firm is a highly experienced criminal defense lawyer in Kansas City. He’s armed with the knowledge and expertise necessary for building a strong foundation for your case.
If you’re ready to take the next step for handling your MIP, give us a call at 913-558-6739 to get a free quote for your case.
MIP Charges in Kansas and Missouri
In Kansas and Missouri, it’s illegal for anyone under the age of 21 to be in possession of or consume alcohol. Whether it’s your first minor in possession offense, or you’ve been here before, you may have a few pressing questions about what this means for you and your future.
1. What do I do when I get charged with MIP in Kansas or Missouri?
When facing minor in possession charges, the first thing you want to do is understand the possible consequences. Understanding the weight of the consequences may influence what you choose to do next. As a best practice, we recommend seeking legal representation. Note: nobody has to have an attorney. However, when considering the possible implications, many will choose to hire a criminal defense attorney to help keep their record clean.
Having an experienced lawyer at your defense can help reduce unwanted consequences, like having your license revoked or MIP conviction on your personal driving record.
2. Do I have to go to court?
Making a court appearance is something many people wish to avoid. Whether or not you have to go to court depends on whether or not you have legal representation. A criminal defense attorney may be able to help you avoid a court appearance. This can differ case-by-case and by court.
If you proceed without representation, you will be required to appear on the court date listed on your ticket.
3. What happens if I plead guilty?
This is something you don’t want to do. The MIP laws for Missouri and Kansas vary. Pleading guilty to MIP in either state will result in an alcohol-related conviction going directly on your record.
An MIP conviction can negatively affect your ability of getting a job, participating in school-related activities, receiving acceptance into the college of your choice, or getting approval for an apartment.
4. Will I get points on my record?
By making the decision not to seek legal representation, you can expect to see the points on your Missouri license (Kansas is a no point state). Not only that, but your driving privileges will take a hit as well.
Dismissing or reducing your ticket to a less serious offense is something a criminal defense attorney may be able to do. Weighing factors such as: age, criminal history, and behavior towards the officer will be considered in the process.
5. How will this affect my driving privileges?
The penalties for MIP convictions vary between Kansas and Missouri.
In Kansas, a first offense results in a 30 day license suspension, 90 days for a second offense and one year for a third or subsequent offense.
In Missouri, the court can order a 30 day license suspension for a first offense, 90 day suspension for a second offense, or one year revocation for a third or any subsequent offense.
Read our Ultimate Guide for MIPs to learn more about MIP laws in Kansas and Missouri.
How to Handle MIP CHARGES in Kansas and Missouri
As a minor or parent of a minor, handling MIP charges isn’t easy to do. Our criminal defense attorney brings over 25 years of experience to every case he represents. John Kitchin will work hard to protect your (or your child’s) rights, record and future. Not sure where to start or what your next step should be? Give Kitchin Law Firm a call at 913-558-6739 for a free quote.