Call us to receive a FREE quote for your case 913-558-6739

DUI and DWI Charges

What to do if you're charged with DUI/DWI

Navigating your next steps after receiving a DUI charge in Kansas or DWI charge in Missouri can be difficult to do. Not sure where to start? Here are 5 things to consider after getting charged with DUI/DWI in Kansas or Missouri.

When dealing with DUI/DWI charges, it’s important to have an understanding of your rights. This will help determine how to protect yourself and how take the next best step.

icon
01

Know Your Rights

icon
02

Record Everything

Writing everything down and having the ability to give a detailed account can work in your favor. This creates a strong point of reference you can use at your defense.

If someone was with you at the time you were charged with DUI/DWI, ask them to testify as a witness. Having them advocate for you can help build a better foundation for your case.

icon
03

Find a Witness

icon
04

Trust the Process

In a DUI/DWI case, trusting the process is key. Having an experienced attorney working to protect you, your rights and your future makes this possible.

If you're facing charges for DUI in Kansas or DWI in Missouri, call Kitchin Law Firm. We'll sit down and work with you to handle your case most effectively.

icon
05

Call Kitchin Law Firm

DUI/DWI Laws in Kansas and Missouri

If you're facing a DUI charge in Kansas or DWI charge in Missouri, important to know what laws are in place and what immediate steps need to be taken to protect your rights.

state icon

Kansas Laws

First Offense DUI
+
-

You could be facing a jail minimum of two days and maximum of six months, a fine no less than $750 and a license suspension.
Second Offense DUI
+
-

You could be facing a jail minimum of five days and maximum of one year, a fine no less than $1,250, and a license suspension.
Third Offense DUI
+
-

You could be facing a jail minimum of 90 days and maximum of one year, a fine no less than $1,750, and a license suspension.
Fourth Offense DUI
+
-

You can expect to receive a jail maximum of one year and the suspension of your license.
state icon

Missouri Criminal Penalties

First Offense DWI
+
-

You could receive a jail term of up to 6 months, fine of up to $500.00, and license suspension.
Second Offense DWI
+
-

You'll be considered a "prior offender," and could receive a jail term of up to one year, fine of up to $1,000 and license suspension up to five years.
Third Offense DWI
+
-

You'll be considered a "persistent offender" with a felony offense, and could receive a prison sentence of up to four years, fine of up to $5,000 and license suspension up to 10 years.
Fourth Offense DWI
+
-

In addition to the felony offense, you may receive a prison sentence of up to seven years, fine of up to $5,000 and license suspension.
Fifth Offense DWI
+
-

This is a felony, and you can expect a prison sentence of up to 15 years, as well as the suspension of your license.

DUI/DWI Defense Process

When facing charges for DUI in Kansas or DWI in Missouri, you need a reputable attorney for your case. First, your attorney will begin investigating the case. They will then address the matters pertaining to your driver’s license. Most importantly, a strong attorney will always fight to protect your rights and your future.

state logo

Upload Your Ticket

Get the right eyes on your ticket. Upload your ticket and our attorney will provide a comprehensive overview of what next steps can be taken to best handle your DUI/DWI charge.

state logo

Call Kitchin Law Firm

The DUI and DWI defense process varies between Missouri and Kansas. Call Kitchin Law Firm to learn more about the defense process and how we can help your case!

Under 21 DUI/DWI

In Kansas and Missouri, it is illegal for anyone under the age of 21 (minors) to possess and consume alcohol. If you’re under the age of 21, and receive a DUI/DWI conviction, you may be subject to penalties. Unfortunately, these could negatively impact your record and driving privileges.

As a minor, navigating a DWI/DUI charge isn’t something you’ll want to walk through alone. To protect your rights, record and driving privileges, you need the right attorney on your case.  
  • In Kansas, drivers under the age of 21 with a blood alcohol content between .02 and .08 are at risk for a license suspension. To avoid this outcome, one must request, fight and win their license hearing.
  • In Missouri, the Abuse and Lose Law can suspend or revoke driving privileges for any offense involving the possession or use of alcohol while operating a motor vehicle.
Dealing with an MIP Charge?

Kitchin Law can help fight your case and keep your record clean.
Learn More






*Please upload front and back of ticket

Add Another File

Get a Free Quote

When you’re charged with DUI/DWI, finding the right attorney is the best place to start. Get a free quote today and learn how Kitchin Law Firm can fight for your rights, record and future.

Text Us

Call Us