Juvenile Drivers and DUI/DWI in Missouri vs. Kansas
In both Kansas and Missouri, it’s illegal for adult drivers to operate a motor vehicle if they have a BAC (blood alcohol content) level over 0.08 percent. However, in both states, the standard for minors is much lower. Learn more about juvenile drivers and DUI/DWI laws in the states of Missouri and Kansas below.
Missouri Laws Regarding Juvenile DWIs
In Missouri, a blood alcohol content of just 0.02 percent can result in a juvenile conviction for DWI. First time offenders result in the suspension of the juvenile’s driver’s license for up to 90 days. Second offenses are going to leave to the suspension of the juvenile’s license for a year.
Any additional penalties for a first-time underage DUI offense includes six months in jail, along with a fine of up to $500. If there’s a second juvenile DUI conviction, it can result in up to a year in jail and a fine of up to $1,000.
Kansas Laws Regarding Juvenile DUIs
According to Kansas state law, driver’s under the age of 21 who provide a breath sample that reads a BAC between 0.02 percent and 0.08 percent will have their license suspended for 30 days followed by 330 days of restricted driving. However, if this is not the driver’s first occurrence, the suspension will last for one year.
If the minor driver gives a breath or blood sample and shows a BAC of 0.08 percent or more, the penalties are going to increase dramatically. In this situation, the driver may face these additional consequences:
- Time in jail for a minimum of 48 hours and up to a maximum of 12 months.
- Fines ranging from $750.00 to $2,500.00.
- If the test results are 0.08 or greater, a minor may be suspended for 30 days and then restricted for the following 6 months to driving a vehicle that’s equipped with an ignition interlock device.
- If the test results are 0.150 or greater the minor driver’s license may be suspended for 1 year, and then restricted for a year to driving only with an ignition interlock device.
Contact an Attorney for Help
If you are in the state of Kansas or Missouri and you receive a DUI charge as a juvenile drivers, don’t wait to seek legal help. An attorney can review your case and help you avoid serious consequences, like the ones mentioned above.
There’s no guarantee in these cases; however, with the help of an attorney, minors facing DUI/DWI charges have a higher likelihood of a lesser sentence than if they tried to fight the charge on their own. Contact Kitchin Law today to learn more.