Call us to receive a FREE quote for your case 913-558-6739

Minor In Possession (MIP)

What to do if you're charged with MIP

At Kitchin Law Firm, we always prepare for the unexpected. We care about your future and want to be a helpful guide when it comes minor in possession charges in Kansas or Missouri.

Receive an MIP charge, but not sure where to go from there? Start by talking to someone you can trust. This first step can help lead you towards building a strong foundation for your case.

icon
01

Talk to Someone You Can Trust

icon
02

Know the Consequences

An experienced lawyer can work for your case and help minimize some of the consequences. Such as, losing your license or having the conviction on your record.

Call Kitchin Law Firm for an attorney that will fight to secure your rights, your driving privileges and help keep your record clean.

icon
03

Call Kitchin Law Firm

icon
04

Make Informed Decisions

With the right representation working for you, you’ll have the support and confidence you need to make informed decisions to protect yourself and your future.

MIP Laws

It is against the law for anyone under the age of 21 to consume alcohol in Kansas and Missouri. For this reason, minors commit a criminal offense when they have alcohol in their possession. If you are a minor, and found guilty of possessing alcohol, you may be subject to penalties in Kansas and in Missouri.

state icon

MIP Laws in Kansas

Kansas Minor in Possession
+
-

In Kansas the types of penalties you receive for an MIP depends on your age. If you are between the ages of 18 and 20, you can be charged with a Class C misdemeanor, which is punishable by a fine of $200.00. If you are under the age of 18, you are a juvenile offender and subject to a fine of $200.00 to $500.00.
Kansas 0.2 BAC Limit for Under 21 DUI
+
-

Kansas drivers under the age of 21 with a BAC between .02 and .08 can expect to have their license suspended if they don’t request, fight and win their license hearing. Additional consequences for an MIP in Kansas are public service hours, completion of an educational or training program related to alcohol or other substances, driver’s license suspension (30 days for first offense, 90 days for second offense and one year for a third or subsequent offense).
state icon

MIP Laws in Missouri

Missouri Minor in Possession
+
-

In Missouri, you can receive an MIP charge if you are under the age of 21 and are caught purchasing or attempting to purchase alcohol, are in possession of alcohol, are visibly intoxicated, or you have a blood alcohol content of .02 or more. The court can then order the suspension or revocation of your driving privileges. 30 day suspension for a first offense, 90 day suspension for a second offense and a one year revocation for a third or any subsequent offense.
Missouri Abuse and Lose Law
+
-

Missouri courts can suspend or revoke the driving privileges of any person who is under 21 years of age under these circumstances. Any alcohol-related traffic offense, any offense involving the possession or use of alcohol while operating a motor vehicle. Also, any offense involving the possession or use of drugs. As well as, any offense involving the alteration, modification or misrepresentation of a driver’s license. Or, a second offense involving the possession or use of alcohol by someone under 18 years of age.

MIP Defense Process

When you receive charges for MIP in Missouri or Kansas, your next move is to find a criminal defense lawyer to fight for your case. A decent attorney will begin by investigating the case and evaluating matters pertaining to your license. They will also spend time answering any questions or concerns you may have. This is all done with an effort to protect your rights and your future.

state logo

Upload Your Ticket

Get the right eyes on your ticket. Upload your ticket and our attorney will provide a comprehensive overview of how to best handle your MIP charge.

state logo

Call Kitchin Law Firm (913-558-6739)

The MIP defense process varies between Missouri and Kansas. Call Kitchin Law Firm to learn more about the defense process and how we can help your case!






*Please upload front and back of ticket

Add Another File

Get a Free Quote

If you’re facing MIP charges in Missouri or Kansas, finding an experienced attorney can be extremely beneficial for your case. Get a free quote today and learn how Kitchin Law Firm can fight for your rights, record and future.

Text Us

Call Us