If you're up against criminal offense charges in Kansas or Missouri, Kitchin Law Firm has the experience you're looking for. Our criminal defense lawyer will work tirelessly to build a strong foundation for your case.
When a minor is convicted of a criminal offense in Kansas or Missouri, there are several negative implications (that vary by state) that he/she could be facing. One implication, is that the charge will end up on his/her driving record. This can negatively impact his/her ability to obtain a job, participate in school activities or apply to college in the future. Criminal offenses for minors include:
In Kansas and Missouri, there are laws in place that make the use and manufacturing of certain drugs illegal in those states. Individuals could face criminal charges for:
Learn more about drug possession laws for Kansas and Missouri.
Individuals could face criminals charges if they are associated with the following in Kansas or Missouri:
Need a criminal defense attorney? Get in contact with Kitchin Law Firm and find out how our attorney can work to protect your rights and your future.
In Kansas and Missouri, minors could face criminal charges for the following actions:
Contact Kitchin Law Firm for a criminal defense lawyer who will fight to protect your rights and help keep your record clean.
Laws for domestic violence & assault vary between Kansas and Missouri. Facing charges or looking to press charges for domestic violence and/or assault? Contact Kitchin Law Firm to discuss options for legal representation. Actions involving domestic violence & assault include (but are not limited to):
Read more about domestic violence & assault and get the right defense you need to build your case.
The laws and penalties set in place for disorderly conduct vary in Kansas and Missouri. In Kansas, a few matters of disorderly conduct include fighting, unlawful assembly (5 or more people), and the use of obscene language. For Missouri, disorderly conduct includes: disturbing the peace, drinking openly in public, and unlawful assembly. In both states, the severity of penalties for are dependent upon the varying factors of each case.
You may need a criminal defense attorney when facing charges in Kansas or Missouri that involve:
For felonies Kansas uses a sentencing grid, but misdemeanors are placed in one of three categories, which are:
Kansas Class A misdemeanors carry a penalty of up to 12 months in jail and fines up to $2,500.00.
Kansas Class B misdemeanors carry a penalty of up to 6 months in jail and fines up to $1,000.00.
Kansas Class C misdemeanors carry a penalty of up to 30 days in jail and fines of up to $500.00.
Kansas uses felony sentencing guidelines for both drug crimes and non-drug crimes. Two factors that impact sentencing for a felony charge are one’s past criminal history and the severity level of the crime itself.
Drug offenses are classified into severity level 1 through 5 and non-drug crimes are divided into severity levels 1 through 10. In terms of past criminal history, level 1 is classified as the most serious and includes defendants with three or more convictions for crimes committed against other people. While level 10 is the least serious designation and includes defendants, who have no criminal record or 1 misdemeanor conviction.
Read more about Kansas state felonies and misdemeanors.
Missouri criminal law breaks down offenses into the following categories:
An infraction will have no imprisonment penalty authorized but may include fines of up to $200.00.
Missouri Class A misdemeanors will carry a penalty of up to 12 months in jail and a fine of up to $1,000.00.
Missouri Class B misdemeanors will carry from 30 days to 6 months in jail and a fine up to $500.00.
Missouri Class C misdemeanors carries up to 15 days in jail, and a fine up to $300.00.
A Class A felony in Missouri can carry a penalty of up to life in prison.
A Class B felony in Missouri may carry imprisonment for up to 15 years in prison.
A Class C felony in Missouri can carry up to 10 years in prison.
A Class D felony in Missouri can carry up to 7 years in prison.
A Class E felony in Missouri can carry up to 4 years in prison.
Find more information on Missouri state felonies and misdemeanors here.
A criminal background check will reveal your criminal record and determine if you are eligible for an expungement. Expungement is a court order sealing criminal records from public view which relate to an arrest or conviction. If you are eligible, why would you not ask a court for an expungement to remove an arrest or a conviction from your record?
If granted, an expungement could give you a second chance at a “clean” criminal record. Arrests and convictions can have a negative impact on your ability to find a good job, obtain a professional license, or be approved on a loan application.
However, an expungement does not completely remove the event from your record, because select groups of governmental agencies have statutory authority to access expunged information.
In Kansas and Missouri, state law allows for expungement of certain criminal offenses, and these statutes specifically address what can and cannot be expunged. We encourage you to contact us with basic information about your case so that we can provide you with a free and confidential consultation to discuss if your arrest or conviction can be expunged.