Call us to receive a FREE quote for your case 913-558-6739

Suspended & Revoked Licenses

How to Handle a Kansas or Missouri License Suspension or Revocation

Nobody ever anticipates compromising their driving privileges. Receiving a license suspension or having your driving privileges revoked not only affects your driving record, but inconveniences your everyday life. Get tips for how to handle a Kansas or Missouri license suspension or revocation.

To determine the best way to protect your driving privileges, understanding the offense is key. Having this information can be especially useful when filing for a license reinstatement.

icon
01

Understand the Offense

icon
02

Know Your Options

Upon a receiving a license suspension or revocation, knowing your options is important. You may be eligible for limited driving privileges in MO or restricted driving privileges in KS.

There's no convenient time to lose your license. Call Kitchin Law Firm to get the backing you need to protect your driving privileges.

icon
03

Call Kitchin Law Firm

License Suspension and Revocation in Kansas and Missouri

There are several reasons why the Department of Revenue may try to suspend or revoke your driving privileges. Learn about the different grounds for license suspension and revocation in Kansas and Missouri.

state icon

Missouri License Suspension & Revocation

Excessive Moving Violations
+
-

When a driver receives 8 or more points in an 18-month period: 1st suspension is 30 days and 2nd suspension is 60 days. If this happens 3 or more times, the suspension is 90 days. You can expect the Department of Revenue to revoke your license for the following: 12 or more points in 12 months, 18 or more points in 24 months, or 24 or more points in 36 months.
Alcohol/Drugs
+
-

If you are arrested for Driving While Intoxicated the offense is processed administratively as well as criminally. Administratively your driving privilege is suspended or revoked based on the prior five- year driver record. If you have been convicted or suspended during the past five years for an alcohol or drug related traffic offense, your driving privilege is revoked for one year. If not, a 90- day suspension is imposed, and if this occurs you have two options:

1. Immediate 90-day Restricted Driving Privilege. To receive this, you must:
-Complete and submit the "Request for 90-day Interlock Restricted Privilege" form to the Department of Revenue within 15 days of the notice date of your suspension
- File proof of SR-22 insurance with the Department of Revenue
-Install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle, and file proof of the installation with the Department of Revenue.

2. 30-days of NO DRIVING followed by 60-day Restricted Driving Privilege. To receive this, you must:
- Serve a suspension period of 30-days.
- File proof of SR-22 insurance with the Missouri Department of Revenue
-Install an ignition interlock on your vehicle, and file proof of the installation with the Department of Revenue, but ONLY if you have a prior alcohol offense.
Driving With a Suspended / Revoked License
+
-

Driving with a suspended or revoked license can lead to an increased suspension and even prison time. Driving with a revoked license is a misdemeanor. The first violation is punishable as a class D misdemeanor. And, a second or third violation will be punishable as a class A misdemeanor. Mo. Rev. Stat. § 302.321
Driving Without Insurance
+
-

Driving without insurance for a first offense is a considered a class D misdemeanor. Possible penalties include 4 points added to your license and/or a license suspension.
Non-Driving Suspension
+
-

You may receive a license suspension for failure to respond to a motor vehicle and driver’s license notice and missing a court date. As well as, not paying traffic tickets, fines, surcharges, or child support.
state icon

Kansas License Suspension & Revocation

Alcohol/Drugs
+
-

The amount of time for the suspension for DUI of drugs or alcohol depends whether or not it's a first or repeat offense. Refuses a chemical test is considered a separate offense and can result in a license suspension for up to a year (K.S.A 8-1014). If the individual is convicted for DUI, they may also be subject to higher fines and a longer suspension.
Driving With a Suspended License
+
-

Driving with a suspended license can result in jail time, fines, and an extended driver’s license suspension. You may also receive an automatic revocation. For a first offense, you may be charged with a Class B misdemeanor. For a second or subsequent offense, you may be charged with a Class A misdemeanor.
Fines vary by type of offense.
Driving Without Insurance
+
-

All vehicles must be insured. Driving a vehicle that is not insured can result in penalties and reinstatement fees. (K.S.A 40-3104)
Other Driving Violations
+
-

You may receive a license suspension or revocation for reckless driving, speeding, being responsible for a fatal accident. Your license may be revoked for vehicular homicide, failing to stop after an accident where there was an injury or fatality, among other violations.
Non-Driving Violations
+
-

Non-driving violations that may result in a license suspension or revocation include failing to respond to a Division of Motor Vehicle notice or missing a court date. As well as, not paying traffic tickets, fines, or surcharges.

Missouri Limited Driving Privilege

If you receive a license denial for five or ten years, this will directly affect your Missouri driving privileges. However, you may be eligible for Missouri’s Limited Driving Privilege (“Hardship License” or “LDP”). This option will allow you to drive to specific, pre-approved locations. There are two ways to apply for Limited Driving Privilege for a license suspension, revocation or denial.

state logo

Submit LDP Form

First option, you may choose to submit a Limited Driving Privilege form directly to the Missouri Department of revenue to be processed.

state logo

Hire an Attorney

Second option, you can hire a traffic attorney who will file a petition with the circuit court. Contact Kitchin Law Firm to learn more today!

License Suspension or Revocation for DUI/DWI Charges

If you get arrested and charged with DUI in Kansas or DWI in Missouri, the arresting officer will do two things. First, the officer will seize your driver’s license. Secondly, they will give you a form that explains you will receive an automatic license suspension if you do not request an administrative hearing, and what steps you need to take to timely make the request.

When someone is arrested for DUI in KS or DWI in MO the individual is subject to 2 legal proceedings:

1.  Criminal case – if the person is convicted of DUI/DWI he or she may serve a jail/prison sentence or be placed on probation. 

2. Administrative license hearing –  a civil proceeding where either the KS or MO Department of Revenue has a proceeding to suspend or revoke the individuals driving privileges for a period of time because he or she was arrested for DUI or DWI.

Read more about Kansas and Missouri License Administrative Hearings.

Protect Your Driving Privileges

Get the representation you need with Kitchin Law Firm.






*Please upload front and back of ticket

Add Another File

Get a Free Quote

Losing your driving privileges not only affects you, but affects those around you as well. At Kitchin Law Firm, we care about you and your future. Get a free quote today and learn how our attorney can fight to protect your driving privileges.

Text Us

Call Us