Call us to receive a FREE quote for your case 913-558-6739

State Felonies and Misdemeanors

How to Handle a Felony or Misdemeanor

Across the states, a misdemeanor is defined as a crime that is “less serious” than a felony. Misdemeanors may be punishable by a fine or county jail term, whereas state felonies are dealt with by the state and can result in a prison term, depending on the severity of the crime. With a criminal defense attorney, you can get the support and representation you need to protect your rights and your future.

When charged with a misdemeanor or felony, it’s important to know what rights you have to exercise before moving forward with your case.

icon
01

Know Your Rights

icon
02

Understand the Consequences

An experienced criminal defense attorney can work on your behalf and help reduce some of the consequences such as losing your license, having the conviction on your record, or jail/prison time.

If you’re facing misdemeanor or felony charges in Kansas or Missouri, call Kitchin Law Firm today and find out how we can work with you to handle your case most effectively.

icon
03

Call Kitchin Law Firm

Kansas and Missouri Misdemeanor Laws

Since not all misdemeanors are created equal, it’s helpful to have a basic level understanding of the classifications, and know which category your criminal charge may fall under. In Kansas and Missouri, misdemeanors are categorized by class: Class A (most serious), Class B and Class C (least serious).

state icon

Misdemeanor Laws in Kansas

Class A Misdemeanor
+
-

- Carries a penalty of up to 12 months in jail - Fines up to $2,500.00 i.e. possession of marijuana for personal use, second time DUI
Class B Misdemeanor
+
-

- Carries a penalty of up to 6 months in jail - Fines up to $1,000.00 i.e. first offense DUI, first time domestic battery
Class C Misdemeanor
+
-

- Carries a penalty of up to 30 days in jail - Fines up to $500.00 i.e. disorderly conduct, disturbing the peace
state icon

Misdemeanor Laws in Missouri

Class A Misdemeanor
+
-

- Carries a penalty of up to 12 months in jail - Fines up to $2,000.00 i.e. marijuana possession (35g or less), third-degree domestic assault
Class B Misdemeanor
+
-

- Carries from 30 days to 6 months in jail - Fines up to $1,000 i.e. first offense DWI, first time domestic battery
Class C Misdemeanor
+
-

- Carries up to 15 days in jail - Fines up to $750 i.e. harassment, illegal gambling
Class D Misdemeanor
+
-

- Fine will not exceed more than $500 i.e. operating a vehicle on the highway without a valid license, driving while revoked/suspended

Felony Laws in Kansas and Missouri

The sentencing process for felonies differs state by state. When a person is charged with a felony in Kansas, the state uses a sentencing grid to determine the sentencing for the felony charge. In Missouri, sentencing for felony charges are broken down by classifications.

state logo

Felony Laws in Kansas

Kansas uses a complex sentencing grid with issued guidelines for both drug crimes and non-drug crimes.

Two factors that impact sentencing for a felony charge are:

-The severity level of the crime itself
-One’s past criminal history.

The severity level for felony drug crimes are classified as levels 1 – 5, with a level 1 being the most serious offense, and a level 5 being the least serious offense.

The severity level for felony non-drug crimes are classified as levels 1 – 10, and just as with drug crimes a level 1 is the most serious offense, while a level 10 is the least serious offense.

The second factor that determines a felony sentence is one’s criminal history, which is classified by letters “A” through “I.” A criminal history of “A” is the highest criminal history score representing 3 or more felonies; while a criminal history of “I” means you only have 1 misdemeanor conviction, or no criminal convictions at all.

See the sentencing grid for drug and non-drug crimes.

state logo

Felony Laws in Missouri

If you’re charged with or facing a felony charge in Missouri, you may be subject to time in prison.

Missouri Felonies are punishable as follows:

Class A
– a term that is at least 10 years, but will not exceed 30 years, or life imprisonment

Class B – a term that is at least 5 years, but will not exceed 15 years in prison

Class C – a term that is at least 3 years, but will not exceed 10 years in prison

Class D – a term up to 7 years in prison

Class E – a term up to 4 years in prison

Find the Right Defense Attorney for Misdemeanors and Felonies

Taking actionable steps without legal representation at your defense can hinder the possibility of obtaining a positive outcome for your case. When you choose Kitchin Law Firm, you get a trusted attorney with more than 25 years of experience, working hard to protect your rights and your future.

Having a criminal record, even for the most minor crimes, can negatively impact your life in more ways than one —  like renting a house or apartment, applying for college, or getting a decent job.

Bright side? Being accused of a crime doesn’t have to make you a criminal.

With the right legal representation, you can move forward confidently knowing your attorney is working to build a strong foundation for your case to help give you the positive resolution you’re hoping for.

When do I need to hire a lawyer?

Find out how Kitchin Law Firm can fight for you and your future.
Learn More






*Please upload front and back of ticket

Add Another File

Get a Free Quote

Facing a criminal charge can be a tough situation to walk through alone, but with Kitchin Law Firm, you don’t have to. If you’ve received a misdemeanor or felony charge in Kansas or Missouri, and are looking for an experienced attorney for your case, contact Kitchin Law Firm to get a free quote today!

Text Us

Call Us